My Desert Island Discs post for 6000, for today (tomorrow would be a whole nother list)

Thanks to 6000 (if you don’t read his blog, do so) I wasted some time today in the most awesome way trying to decide on my top 8 songs to meet his Desert Island Disc challenge

It led to a very happy trip down Amnesia Lane via YouTube… so thanks! 6000 🙂

In no particular order…




  1. Crowded House – Into Temptation – my first ‘grown up’ song that I liked (before that it was all Bros and Kylie Minogue…)
  2. REM – Night Swimming – reminds me of swimming with one of my favourite people in the whole world (at night, surprisingly) on a hot night in Haifa, Israel.
  3. Bob Marley – Redemption Song – gotta have a Bob song, and this is my fav
  4. Jason Mraz – I’m yours – my wedding song
  5. Hothouse Flowers – Sweet Marie – love the line ‘left it on your favourite table.’ And all the other lyrics too.
  6. The La’s – There She Goes – makes me SO HAPPY
  7. Edie Brickell & New Bohemians – Circle – so much of hippie goodness. love her voice. “Being alone is the best way to be… when I’m by myself it’s the best way to be…”
  8. Oasis – You Gotta Roll With It – cos I loved the 90s and this song represents the whole Britpop era to me

 

If I could add two more (for when I needed something spiritual )

  1. Chris Tomlin – Unfailing Love – Got to have a God song, love this one
  2. Snatam Kaur – May the Long Time Sun – sent to me from my oldest, dearest friend. LOVE her voice

 

EDITED: Here are some of the songs I left out that are now haunting me:

Louis Armstrong’s version of Mack the Knife

Bobby Darin – Somewhere beyond the sea

Reef – Lay your Hands

Bjork – It’s oh so quiet

The Eagles – Desperado

Jesus Jones – Right Here Right Now

James – Ring the bell

Deacon Blue – Raintown

Ocean Colour Scene – The Day We Caught The Train

EMF – Unbelievable

Dan Reid – Rainbow Child

Lemonheads – Shame about Ray

Will add more as they occur to me…

This entry was posted in Happiness, music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Desert Island Discs post for 6000, for today (tomorrow would be a whole nother list)

  1. 6000 says:

    OMG! Can’t believe I predicted there would be an Edie Brickell song in there. Almost told you on twitter to leave that one out (rather than telling you to leave no. 3 out).
    That’s very ‘Noordhoek’.
    Oasis surprises me, as does the La’s.

    Every band name I see on my iPod now makes me wonder why they’re not includedon my list. Challenging, wasn’t it?

  2. Hahaha that’s weird! I only added Edie in right at the end and removed someone else to make space for her. Who the heck was it now?

    Very challenging but lots of fun and memories 🙂 playing Pulp now…
    Thanks!

  3. Pingback: The 6000 miles... Desert Island Discs post | 6000 miles from civilisation...

  4. Dave Beer says:

    Okay… really surprised Paolo wasn’t in your list… but hey ho.

    I tried to come up with my desert island 8 – and immediately started with:

    Fiona Apple – Get Gone
    White Stripes – Seven Nation Army
    The Police – Don’t stand so close to me
    The Exponents – Victoria
    Elvis Costello – Veronica
    The Cars – Heartbeat City
    Peter Gabriel – Don’t give up
    No Doubt – Don’t Speak
    Metallica – Enter Sandman

    …eerrr – too many already – and I’m certain they’ll have to shuffle to make room for lots I’ve forgotten. I don’t think whittling it down to 8 is going to be easy.

    • nearly put the same sting song up 🙂

      don’t know some of the others, will listen to some of them next week at work where I’ve got more bandwidth….

      I like fiona apple a lot. Paolo’s not on YOUR list! lol

      It is very hard cutting down and down and down…

Leave a Reply

