Back in time

A friend of mine posted this photo on Facebook today. It’s one of my closest friends and me back in the early 1990’s, in the UK. How much has changed for us both in the almost-two-decades since this was taken! If we had known what lay ahead – loves, losses, motherhood, travel, family – would we have had the strength to face the hard times of saying goodbye and leaving, or the patience to wait for the magical moments of holding our babies, exploring the world?

Old photos always make me think how we just had no idea what was around the corners of the coming years. And wonder what still lies ahead…

This entry was posted in Friends, Motherhood, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in time

  1. ils says:

    Finally got to read this properly since I got a new sim card…

    Stared at that photo for ages taking in every detail, trying to remember how I felt and evoke the general ‘feel’ of being 21. Nearly half a lifetime ago and everything that came flooding back was more than I can put into words here. Perhaps its just as well our older selves can’t go back to warn our younger selves.

    Would you go through it all again to get to who you are at the present moment? I’m astonished to say that yes, I would. Thanks for posting this. You raise some very good points,
    Love to you ix

    • hey my friend… would I have gone through everything? Possibly not EVERYTHING – some of it has made me bitter, some of it has left footprints across my soul I’d rather not have there – but there is also much to be thankful for and I feel filled with graitude so often. And no-one’s life is perfect and that’s ok too. But I am glad that you have been and still are such an important part of who I am today.
      xx

Leave a Reply

