birthday card from my son

R gave me a handmade card with the following message inside. Of course it made me cry :-) Had to share it.

“I can’t begin to tell you how much I love and appreciate you. You’ve always been there for me and I have so many memories of you.
I remember reading stories in the morning. I remember driving to the beach just you and me and me, running screaming into the water; driving from Simons Town all the way to Red Hill. Me being stupid and you laughing hysterically. Making the Cave project out of fridge boxes in Grade 2.
I hve so many things to be grateful for. Making me tea, breakfast and school lunch for me. I love lying and talking with you in the mornings and evenings.
I love almost everything about you. Your (real) smile. your infectuous laugh, the way you can talk about something serious and then change it into something completely funny.
Over the thirteen years I’ve been with you I’ve grown to love you more than you will ever imagine.
I hope God blesses you in this 40th year of your life.
I love you more than the moon and the stars and the wide, wide world.
You’ve made my life the way it is.
Raphael.

(the moon, stars and world bit is something we’ve said to each other most nights since he was a toddler).

How blessed am I?

This entry was posted in Me, Motherhood, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to birthday card from my son

  1. randomthoughtso says:

    My HEART. That is just the most beautiful thing. You have SUCH a special child. Blessed, blessed mama. X

  2. groupiemom says:

    most awesomely awesome. i want to cry too. bless him

  3. Jolene says:

    I’m crying too… that is beautiful!!

    “I love almost everything about you. Your (real) smile. your infectuous laugh, the way you can talk about something serious and then change it into something completely funny.”

    –> I know and love this about you too!

  4. Bronwen says:

    So very special!

  5. Wow, that’s so beautiful! When I have a child, I hope he or she will be able to say that about me. You’re blessed with a beautiful talented child and he’s blessed to have a you as mother. Happy birthday!

  6. Nicole says:

    me and my mummy said it everynight since i was a toddler too is there any chance you remember what book its from??? please

  7. jeanbarker says:

    This makes me wish I had kids. Which has been a big thing I’ve had to let go of lately…

  8. Pingback: This weekend I’m going to… | the green hair mermaid blogs

Leave a Reply

